THE MERGA LIFE MEMBERSHIP AWARD 2016

It is with great pleasure that the Mathematics Education Research Group of Australasia hereby announces the awarding of the MERGA Life Membership award to **Professor Jane Watson**, University of Tasmania, in recognition of her long association with and support for the activities of MERGA as demonstrated by her exemplary service, leadership and instigation of innovative practices within the organisation that have significantly enhanced the standing of MERGA in the mathematics education community.

Professor Jane Watson has had a sustained and substantive association with MERGA for over thirty-five years. In addition to her participation in nearly every conference, she was on the organizing committee of two MERGA conferences (1990 and 2007), has continuously served as a reviewer for the *Mathematics Education Research Journal (MERJ)*, conference proceedings, early career award papers and has edited a special issue of *MERJ*. She also served on the editorial board of *MERJ* for 15 years (1988-95, 1997-2003). Her efforts—in collaboration with the editors and other board members— have helped establish the journal's international standing of today.

Professor Jane Watson's commitment to MERGA is further evident by her leadership and innovation within MERGA and her strong involvement in its activities. She served as MERGA Vice President (Research) from 1988 to 1992—instigating MERGA's Early Career Award during this time. Jane's leadership in research has been recognised formally through the award of the MERGA Career Research Medal, which acknowledged the significance of her research in strengthening the field of statistics education research. In the process of doing this, she has also mentored many emerging researchers who have benefited from her guidance.

In short, through her exemplary and sustained engagement with MERGA, Professor Jane Watson has profoundly enhanced its standing in the mathematics education community. She is an eminently worthy recipient of the MERGA Life Membership award in 2016.